Breaking News

Buhari Replaces Akpabio, Amaechi, Other Ministers Who Resigned Over 2023 Elections

President Muhammadu Buhari has nominated seven persons for appointment as ministers.

This is contained in a letter read on the floor of the Senate on Tuesday.

In the letter, Buhari sought the senate’s confirmation of the new ministers, saying it was in accordance with the provisions of Section 147 subsection 2 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended.

They are:

Umana Okon Umana (Akwa Ibom)
Henry Ikechukwu Iko (Abia)
Adewole Adegoroye (Ondo)
Odum Udi (Rivers)
Goodluck Nnana Opia (Imo)
Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub (Kano)
Joseph Ukama (Ebonyi)
Some ministers had resigned to contest the primaries of the 2023 elections.

They included the then Ministers of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio; Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu; Minister of State, Mines and Steel Development, Uche Ogah, Minister of State, Education, Emeka Nwajiuba and Minister of State for Niger Delta Affairs, Chief Tayo Alasoadura.

Daily Trust had reported how the failure of Buhari to replace the minister 39 days after their resignation had slowed down the pace of activities in the affected ministries.

Buhari had while speaking at a valedictory session for the ministers held on May 13 at the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa, Abuja, said replacement appointments would be made without delay, “So that the business of governance would not suffer as their departure had created a vacuum that should be filled”.

After the Federal Executive Council meeting of last week, reporters had asked why there was delay in the process of replacing the ministers, but Lai Mohammed, Minister of Information, had said the president would replace them at the right time.

Do you have any information you wish to share with us? Do you want us to cover your event or programme? For Adverts or report call/WhatsApp us on +2349064433505 or reach us at

No comments