Breaking News

#AnambraDecides: Soludo Wins 14 Of 15 LGAs Announced By INEC

Charles Soludo, Andy Uba, and Valentine Ozigbo
Charles Soludo of the All Progressives Grand Alliance has garnered more votes than his main challengers in Saturday’s governorship election, winning all the 14 out of 15 local government areas results announced so far by the electoral office INEC. The state has 21 local government areas and the candidates of APC and PDP are the runners-up so far.

Mr Soludo, 61, has been locked in a close contest with Andy Uba of the All Progressives Congress, Valentine Ozigbo of the Peoples Democratic Party and Ifeanyi Ubah of the Young Progressives Party. The candidates are seeking to replace Governor Willie Obiano, the only APGA governor in the country. 
Mr Obiano supported Mr Soludo during the primaries and pulled resources that aided his ardent campaign against candidates of the two biggest political parties, APC and PDP.   

The 15 LGAs so far announced are Onitsha South, Ndemili South, Anyamelum, Oyi, Dunukofia, Awka South, Aguata, Anaocha, Orumba North, Orumba South, Njikoka, Ogbaru, Nnewi North and Anambra East. Voting will, however, be allowed to continue on Sunday across polling units where delays were forced by widespread voting machine malfunctions.

From announced results, APGA scored 85,971; PDP scored 40,769; and APC scored 33,467.

Announced results:

1. Aguata LGA 

APC: 4,773 
APGA: 9,136
PDP: 3,798

2. Awka South LGA

APC: 2,595
APGA: 12,891
PDP: 5,489

3. Anambra East LGA 

APC: 2,034 
APGA: 9,746 
PDP: 1,380

4. Onitsha South LGA 

APC: 2,050 
APGA: 4,281 
PDP: 2,253

5. Orumba North LGA

APC: 2,692 
APGA: 4,826
PDP: 1,863

6. Orumba South LGA 

APC: 2,060 
APGA: 4,394 
PDP: 1,672

7. Anaocha LGA 

APC: 2,085 
APGA: 6,911 
PDP: 5,108

8. Ekwusigo LGA

APC: 1,237
APGA: 2,570
PDP: 1,857

9. Dunukofia LGA

APC: 1, 991
APGA: 4,124
PDP: 1,680

10. Oyi LGA

APC: 2,830
APGA: 6,133
PDP: 2,484

11. Ayamelum LGA

APC: 2,409
APGA: 3,424
PDP: 2,804

12. Idemili South LGA

APC: 1,039
APGA: 2,312
PDP: 2,016

13. Njikoka LGA

APC: 3,216
APGA: 8,803
PDP: 3,409

14. Nnewi North LGA

APC: 1,278
APGA: 3,369
PDP: 1,511

15. Ogbaru LGA

APC: 1,178
APGA: 3,051
PDP: 3,445

This page will be updated as new results are announced from remaining local government areas.

Do you have any information you wish to share with us? Do you want us to cover your event or programme? For Adverts or report call/WhatsApp us on +2349064433505 or reach us at

No comments