Breaking News

Kwara North Youths Expresses Shock Over Kwara State Ministerial Nominations

Being a Statement Released at a Press Conference by Kwara North APC Youth Movement in Ilorin today, Friday 26th July, 2019.

The press statement in details;



The great Youth of Kwara North here present, invited guests, distinguished ladies and gentlemen of the Press, it is with great shock we address this Press conference on the subject under review.

1. We wish to begin this address first by appreciating His Excellency President Muhammadu Buhari GCFR, Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria for considering Kwara State with two Ministerial nominations. We however, wish to express our shock and grievance with the absence of a Kwara Northerner as a Ministerial nominee to the notice of the President and the general public.

2. While we understand that the choice of who becomes a Minister to represent Kwara State at the Federal Executive Council is the prerogative of the President, we are however, seriously pained that this prerogative did not consider the peculiar circumstance of Kwara State vis a viz power sharing since 1999 to date; federal appointments and the 2019 electoral performance analysis among the three senatorial district of Kwara State.

3. In view of the foregoing, we most humbly urge the President as a father of all to always take Equity, Fairness and Justice in Kwara’s case into a greater consideration going forward.

4. Distinguished Members of the Press, permit us to bring to bear, some of the facts that should have been considered and as such being the basis of our shock and grievances over Kwara ministerial Slots.

5. From 1999 to 2011, Kwara Central Senatorial District produced Governor for 12 uninterrupted years, while Kwara South Senatorial District also governed the State for 8 years respectively. Kwara North Senatorial District based on Equity, Fairness and Justice ought to have produced the Governor after long 20 years at the last general election, but in the interest of peace and progress of the State of Harmony, we humbly sacrificed our rightful opportunity and paid a great price to propel these administrations to victory. The election result analysis revealed that Kwara North gave 31.71% (The second largest) bulk vote in the last Presidential election, while the Kwara Central and Kwara the South gave 40.59% and 27.70% respectively. APC lost one local government in Kwara South in that election. Kwara North further sustained and improved in the gubernatorial election in the State by also delivering 31.84% being the second largest bulk votes, the Central gave 39.16% and Kwara South polling 29.00%.

6. It is instructive to note that data revealed that Kwara North with the smallest polling units of 453 and bigger three times than Central and South combined together in terms of land mass performed better in voters turn out as against Kwara Central with 737 polling units and Kwara South with 682 polling units respectively.

7. The appointments ratio of Kwarans at the federal level showed that Kwara Central have 62%, Kwara South with 30% and Kwara North is just 8%.

8. Kwara North is the second largest populated district after Kwara Central and followed by Kwara South. Putting all of these together on a fair assessment scale, you will agree with us that, either on the scale of equality or equity, Kwara North deserves a consideration for Ministerial appointment and that was why we were shocked.

9. As such, this unfairness and inequality makes Kwara North to linger or wallows in a pool of marginalization and oppression.

10. We nonetheless going forward, state that we are not in contention with the competency and merits of the nomination of Alhaji Lai Mohammed and Sen. Gbemisola Saraki but all we say is Mr President should look into all of the appointments of Kwara with the tenet of Equity, Fairness and Justice.

11. We use this opportunity to restates our unalloyed support for President Muhammadu Buhari and the Executive Governor of Kwara State, Alhaji Abdulrahaman AbdulRazak towards a successful governments and we pray Next Level Nigeria.

Thank you everyone for coming.

Zubair Aliyu Rogun (Patigi)

Abubakar Mohammed Saddam (Kaiama) 
Deputy Coordinator

Wole Olayiwola (Moro)
General Secretary

Umar Faruk Idris (Baruteen)

Ibrahim Yahaya (Edu)

No comments