Breaking News

Kwara Assembly Constitutes Ad-Hoc C'ttee To Probe iIlegal Acquisition Of Tourist Kitchen, Others

The Kwara State House of Assembly has constituted a 5 man Ad-Hoc Committee to probe all acquisitions of government properties by individuals in the state.

The setting up of the special committee was sequel to Matter of General Public Importance on the sudden change in the name of state government owned Tourist Kitchen to Bubble 007, raised by the House Leader and member representing Ilorin Central Constituency, Hon. Abubakar Olawoyin Mogaji at the floor of the House.

The 5 man Committee, according to the Speaker, Engr. Yakubu Danladi Salihu, who presided over the Thursday sitting, are member representing Ojomu/Balogun Constituency Prince Saheed Popoola as Chairman and Hon Abdullahi Halihu Danbaba Deputy Chairman.

Others are members representing Ilorin South, Ilorin North West and Isin Constituencies Hons. Hassan AbdulAzeez Elewu, Barrister Abdul-Gafar Olayemi Ayinla and Hon Olamide Ayokunle Awolola respectively.

The Speaker, while charging the Ad-Hoc Committee to carry out the assignment diligently, assured that the House would not allow the commonwealth of the public to be taken over by individuals as necessary steps would be taken to salvage the state from the verge socio-economic backwardness.

Engr. Salihu equally assured the people of the state that the outcome of the investigation would be implemented to the letter by the executive arm of government and referred the investigation on the ownership of Tourist Kitchen to the House Committee on Youth ,Sports, Information, Culture and Tourism and report its findings next week Thursday.

Hon. Mogaji had while raising the Matter, raised  pertinent questions on the current status of the state owned Tourist Kitchen and urged the House to mandate relevant committee to unravel the current status of the Tourist Kitchen.

Other members who spoke on the Matter condemned in its entirety what they termed unlawful acquisition of public properties by individuals and enjoined the House to constitute an ad-hoc Committee to conduct holistic investigations into all acquisitions of government owned properties with a view to retrieving them from private hands.

The members who spoke on the Matter are Abdul-Gafar Ayinla ( Ilorin North -West Constituency), Hon Felix Omotayo Awodiji ( Irepodun Constetuency), Jimoh Aliyu Yusuf( Ilorin East Constituency) , Prince Saheed Popoola (Ojomu/Balogun Constituency).

Others are  Olarewaju Adetiba - Raphael(Oke Ero Constituency) , Yusuf Atoyebi Musa (Odo Ogun Constituency), Abdullahi Haliru Danbaba (Kaiama/Kemaji/Wajibe Constituent ),  Ayokunle Olamide Awolola( Isin Constituency) and Abdul Ganiyu Folabi Salau (Omupo Constituency).

No comments